Waking Up In Canada

Time Out Just To See

Snowday March 8, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — wakingupincanada @ 1:36 pm

 

Banff is simply spectacular this week.

On Monday, after listening to a season of moans of the under average snowfall, we were treated to the biggest dump of snow in one day for 40 years.  Walking to work at 10am, it was already to my knees, and it didn’t let up all day. I stood at the store counter looking out. At times it fell soft and beautiful, a quiet descent, at others, it blizzarded up a storm. Either way, the world slowed; traffic crawled, shoppers stayed inside and pedestrains smiled earnestly to each other.  I cleared snow from the sidewalk, and when I as finished, went back to the beginning and started again. That night and in the early morning, snowboarders and skiiers flocked here and an idle Tuesday had more traffic onto the hills than a long weekend, welcoming the greatest powder day of the season.

Today, the sun is glistening off the white snow. The world is bright. The mountains stand glowing, vibrant against a blue sky. The melt has begun, but it does not dampen the light. I have this day off, this beautiful day, and no plans, no long to do list, other than enjoy. I walk around, I sit and watch, I look out my kitchen window.

In this kind of light, you could almost imagine that everything in this life is perfect.